• 45 players became NBA All-Star Game selections in their rookie season. This is the full list sorted chronologically.
    • 3 players achieved MVP honors as rookies playing the All-Star Game, curiously in three consecutive editions: Elgin Baylor, Wilt Chamberlain and Oscar Robertson.
    • Jack Molinas and Patrick Ewing are the only rookies selected who were not able to play the NBA All-Star Game.
    • Players who played in other leagues (ABA or NBL) and made the All-Star Game in their first NBA season are not included.
    • Stats column show these players rookie stats before the NBA All-Star Game. Only available stats are shown. N/A = Not Available.
    • List updated until 2018 edition.

    2011Blake GriffinLos Angeles ClippersNo22.8 P 12.6 R
    2003Yao MingHouston RocketsYes13.0 P 8.1 R
    1998Tim DuncanSan Antonio SpursNo18.2 P 11.5 R
    1995Grant HillDetroit PistonsYes18.4 P 5.1 R
    1993Shaquille O'NealOrlando MagicYes24.0 P 14.3 R
    1992Dikembe MutomboDenver NuggetsNo19.1 P 13.3 R
    1990David RobinsonSan Antonio SpursNo23.2 P 11.8 R
    1986Patrick EwingNew York KnicksNo20.9 P 9.2 R
    1985Michael JordanChicago BullsYes27.4 P
    1985Hakeem OlajuwonHouston RocketsNo20.7 P
    1984Ralph SampsonHouston RocketsNo21.3 P
    1982Isiah ThomasDetroit PistonsYes17.4 P
    1982Kelly TripuckaDetroit PistonsNo19.9 P
    1982Buck WilliamsNew Jersey NetsNo15.5 P
    1980Larry BirdBoston CelticsNo19 P 10 R
    1980Magic JohnsonLos Angeles LakersYesN/A
    1980Bill CartwrightNew York KnicksNo23.1 P
    1978Walter DavisPhoenix SunsNoN/A
    1976Alvan AdamsPhoenix SunsNoN/A
    1972Sidney WicksPortland Trail BlazersNo24.0 P
    1971Geoff PetriePortland Trail BlazersNoN/A
    1971John JohnsonCleveland CavaliersNoN/A
    1970Kareem Abdul-JabbarMilwaukee BucksNo26.5 P
    1969Wes UnseldBaltimore BulletsNo15 P
    1969Elvin HayesSan Diego RocketsYes30.3 P 18.0 R
    1966Rick BarrySan Francisco WarriorsYesN/A
    1965Willis ReedNew York KnicksNo18.4 P
    1965Luke JacksonPhiladelphia 76ersYes15.2 P
    1964Jerry LucasCincinnati RoyalsYesN/A
    1963Terry DischingerChicago ZephyrsNoN/A
    1962Walt BellamyChicago PackersYes29.7 P
    1961Oscar RobertsonCincinnati RoyalsYes31.2 P
    1961Jerry WestLos Angeles LakersNoN/A
    1960Wilt ChamberlainPhiladelphia WarriorsYes37.3 P
    1959Elgin BaylorMinneapolis LakersYes23.4 P
    1957Tom HeinsohnBoston CelticsNoN/A
    1956Maurice StokesRochester RoyalsNo15.9 R
    1955Bob PettitMilwaukee HawksNo20.6 P
    1955Frank SelvyMilwaukee HawksNo20.6 P
    1954Ray FelixBaltimore BulletsYesN/A
    1954Jack MolinasFort Wayne PistonsNo12.1 P 7.2 R
    1954Don SunderlageMilwaukee HawksNoN/A
    1951Bob CousyBoston CelticsYesN/A
    1951Paul ArizinPhiladelphia WarriorsNo17.4 P
    1951Larry FoustFort Wayne PistonsNoN/A